Center Of Biotechnology Of Sfax (CBS)

Center Of Biotechnology Of Sfax (CBS)
The CBS was created by decree n ° 83-1037 of November 4, 1983, reorganizing the National Institute of Scientific and Technical Research. Since January 1989, the CBS has become an independent institution whose budget is attached by order to the state budget. In January 2010, the CBS changed from a Public Establishment with an Administrative character “EPA” to a Public Establishment with a Scientific and Technological character “EPST”. The CBS is currently structured into six Research Laboratories and four specialized Units in accordance with the 2019-2022 program contract:
LR19CBS01: Laboratory of Environmental Bioprocesses (LBPE)
LR19CBS02: Laboratory of Molecular Biotechnology of Eukaryotes (LBME)
LR19CBS03: Biotechnology and Plant Improvement Laboratory (LBAP)
LR19CBS04: Biopesticides Laboratory (LB)
LR19CBS05: Laboratory of Microbial Biotechnology, Enzymatic, and Biomolecules (LMBEB)
LR19CBS06: Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Screening Processes (LPCMC)
CBS has been certified ISO 9001/2015 (April 2017) by AFAQ AFNOR International, for research and development and valorization of Research Results and Technology Transfer activities in Biotechnology. CBS has a wide experience in international and European research projects: FP6 (4), FP7 (6) and H2020 (2). During the period 2011-2014, CBS has successfully coordinated an ERA-WIDE action supported and funded under 7th Framework program (FP7) by the European Commission, the BioProtech.